

PR & Media Helen Hull 16 Thesiger Court, Deakin ACT 2600 Phone 0419 642 961 I Fax 02 6285 2444 www.reia.com.au I media@reia.com.au

> For Immediate Release Media Release 24 March 2017

REAL ESTATE INDUSTRY RECOGNISES PROFESSION'S OUTSTANDING PERFORMERS

The Real Estate Institute of Australia recognised the profession's most outstanding performers at the 12th Annual REIA National Awards for Excellence last night at the Hyatt Hotel Canberra.

REIA President Malcolm Gunning said more than 250 real estate professionals came together to celebrate winners across sixteen categories.

"To be presented with an REIA National Award for Excellence is the highest honour in Australian real estate," Mr Gunning said.

"Competition was fierce across all award categories and shows the strength and talent of our great industry.

"Our hosts for the evening REIACT performed exceptionally well on the evening taking out four categories including Medium Residential Agency of the Year, awarded to Ray White Belconnen, while Independent Property Group celebrated with three awards, including Residential Property Manager of the Year, Renee Bink, Corporate Support Person of the Year, Sofia Ligeros and the Achievement Award went to Stephanie Graham.

"South Australian agency Toop&Toop had a stellar night winning Large Residential Agency of the Year as well as the Innovation Award and Communication Award which entitles Toop&Toop to be inducted into the REIA Hall of Fame in 2018 as the winner of the Communications category in 2015, 2016 and now 2017.

"Buyer's Agent of the Year, Kent Cliffe of Momentum Wealth Property in Western Australia will also be inducted into the REIA Hall of Fame next year, having won this category in 2015, 2016 and now 2017. CBRE Victoria was inducted into REIA Hall of Fame this year for Commercial Agency of the Year having won the category in 2014, 2015 and 2016.

"Commercial Agency of the Year went to CBRE NSW and Commercial Salesperson of the Year to Michael Crombie of Colliers International NSW.

"Residential Salesperson of the Year was awarded to Natalie Downton of Downton Property Hobart and represents the first time a female has won this category since the introduction of the REIA Awards in 2006 and first time a Tasmanian has taken home the award in this category," Mr Gunning said.

Mr Gunning presented the prestigious President's Award for 2017, recognising significant contribution made by an individual to the real estate profession, to REIA immediate past President Neville Sanders, Victorian Manager of Whittles Australia.

"A member of the Real Estate Institute of Victoria (REIV) since 1971 and joining the REIV Board in 2006 Neville was REIV President in 2013 and 2014 before being elevated to REIA President in 2015 and 2016. With more than 50 years experience in the industry he has most recently focused on owners corporations and is well deserving of this accolade," Mr Gunning said.

The recipients of the 2017 REIA National Awards for Excellence can be viewed on page 2 of this media release. Images are available on request.

The Real Estate Institute of Australia (REIA) is the national professional association for real estate agents in Australia. For further information or to interview REIA President Malcolm Gunning please contact Helen Hull at media@reia.com.au or 0419 642 961.

2017 National Awards for Excellence Winners President's Award

VIC Neville Sanders

Large Residential Agency of the Year - sponsored by Realestate VIEW

SA Toop&Toop

Medium Residential Agency of the Year - sponsored by RealestateVIEW

ACT Ray White Belconnen

Small Residential Agency of the Year - sponsored by Terri Scheer

WA Mint Real Estate Claremont

Commercial Agency of the Year - sponsored by Rockend

NSW CBRE NSW

Residential Salesperson of the Year - sponsored by RealestateVIEW

TAS Natalie Downton – Downton Property Hobart

Commercial Salesperson of the Year - sponsored by Coverforce Insurance Broking

NSW Michael Crombie – Colliers International NSW

Achievement Award - sponsored by RealestateVIEW

ACT Stephanie Graham – Independent Property Group

Communications Award - sponsored by The Real Estate Conversation

SA Toop&Toop

Innovation Award - sponsored by Rockend

SA Toop&Toop

Community Service Award - sponsored by Compare & Connect

NSW Hugh Bateman – The Property Shop

Commercial Property Manager of the Year - sponsored by Rockend

VIC Kristian Etherington – Ray White Commercial Nunawading

Residential Property Manager of the Year - sponsored by Terri Scheer

ACT Renee Bink – Independent Property Group

Corporate Support Person of the Year - sponsored by Coverforce Insurance Broking

ACT Sofia Ligeros – Independent Property Group

Buyer's Agent of the Year – sponsored by Compare & Connect

WA Kent Cliffe – Momentum Wealth Property

Business Broker of the Year - The Real Estate Conversation
VIC Karli Dunham – Just Business Brokers.com

REIA Hall of Fame - Commercial agency of the Year 2014, 2015, 2016

VIC CBRE Victoria